Loving Lions from the Womb

It all started when my parents saw the Disney movie The Lion King in theaters, I was merely in the womb during this. As a child I would cry because the VHS player wouldn’t rewind that very movie fast enough. Very simply, the lion is my favorite animal to this day and will always be.
As a child, walking through the book store, of course I find a gigantic book on animals and look through it cover to cover. I learned early on the facts of my favorite animals; carnivorous mammals.
I captured and raised the occasional stray kitten that wondered into the life of my six year old self, and learned from them their body language and behavior all my life basically. At one point I owned 21 cats. Yes, 21 is way too much, but in my defence, we didn’t expect 14 kittens between two of our queens. (we gave them away of course as soon as they were weaned). I currently feed one stray.
I live in Greenville SC and have gone to Mrytle Beach EVERY summer since I was 2. In the past years I have begged my parents to take me to T.I.G.E.R.S. with no luck due to the price of admition.
Today I came across a book in Barnes and Noble, shocked to see how big of a deal T.I.G.E.R.S. really is. I turn 18 at the start of the summer, May 25th and planned to work at the zoo or petsmart. After reading the qualifications for apprenticeship I’m for sure going to do my best to get a job at the Greenville Zoo.
As you’ve read, I know I want to work with animals for a living, but I’m not sure what I want to do with them specifically. I hope to save my money and visit T.I.G.E.R.S. this summer to see what it’s really like up front.
Thanks for reading, sorry for being too personal and boring, hope to see you guys soon!
-Hannah Lauren Curtis

Name: Hannah Lauren Curtis
City: Greenville
State: South Carolina


Leave a Reply

