T.I.G.E.R.S Changed My Life!!

My family and I took our 1st Family Vacation down to Myrtle Beach, SC at the end of July (2014). While down there we were able to experience many of the typical "tourist" attractions that Myrtle Beach had to offer. But none of the activities we did could compare to the life-changing experience we all had when we took the tour at T.I.G.E.R.S. Preservation Station!!
My family stayed at a time share condo near Surfside beach, and upon check-in we received several information packets in a folder to give us options of what there was to do while we were there. Inside the folder I found the pamphlet for T.I.G.E.R.S, and immediately was interested.
Once I realized that this was NOT a zoo, but a once in a lifetime opportunity to get up close with several endangered species, while also knowing that the money was going to a good foundation to help save the world, I was determined to make this adventure apart of our family’s itinerary. We looked into the Barefoot Landing location where we went to take pictures with the tiger cubs, and after that my parents were convinced that taking the T.I.G.E.R.S. tour would be well worth the money.
A few days later, we all got up early and made our way to the preservation and await for what I didn’t realize would be the moment when I discovered what I wanted to do with my life. The tour began at around 10AM, and for approximately 3 hours my family and myself were mesmerized by the close-up, personal encounters we experienced with such fascinating animals. Throughout the tour our wonderful tour guide Mari along with the other trainers shared several facts about the preservation, how it began, all the places that T.I.G.E.R.S travels to help around the world,and what their lifestyle is like living with the animals.
By the end of our tour my family and I had just encountered several moments that we will NEVER forget and that we were able to take home and share with others. The second I returned home I immediately went online to tigerfriends.com to look at what it takes to become an apprentice and make T.I.G.E.R.S. my own lifestyle! Now that I have the list of what to do I am starting to train myself and make the proper adjustments to my life to qualify for the apprenticeship.
I think that everyone should experience what we did on our vacation! It all was worth every penny, and I feel like the more people who can become aware of what T.I.G.E.R.S Preservation is and does for the world, the more people can spread the word and help Save the Tigers, Save the World!!

Name: Ashley McKenney
City: Brighton
State: Michigan



Leave a Reply

